Home NEWS Ivor Greenstreet gets landslide victory to become 2020 CPP flagbearer

Ivor Greenstreet gets landslide victory to become 2020 CPP flagbearer

A former flagbearer of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet has been re-elected as flagbearer for the party for the 2020 elections.

Mr. Greenstreet at the party’s primaries held on Saturday, August 22, 2020, polled 1,364 votes against Bright Akwetey’s 597 and Divine Ayivor’s 171 votes.

This will be the second time Mr. Greenstreet will be getting the nod to take a shot at the presidency.

In 2016 when he first contested in the presidential polls on the ticket of the CPP, he came fourth out of seven candidates with 25,552 votes representing 0.24% of the valid votes cast.

Meanwhile, the party’s national executives’ election saw new leaders taking up the mantle of leadership.

Nana Akosua Frimpong Sarpong, the 2012 running-mate to then flagbearer Dr. Abu-Sakara got the nod to become the CPP National Chairman.

Nana Yaa Akyimpim Jantuah also beat acting General Secretary, James Kwabena Bomfeh popularly known as Kabila to become the substantive General Secretary.

While Nana Yaa Jantuah polled 1,389 votes, James Kabila Kwabena Bomfeh managed only 752 votes.

Onsy Kwame Nkrumah, a son of the founder of the CPP was also elected as the Vice Chairman of the party after polling 1,013 votes as against Emmanuel Ogbojor’s 720.

A third aspirant, John Benjamin Davids, polled 377 votes.


Bright Oblitey Akwetey – 597
Divine Ayivor – 171
Ivor Kobina Greenstreet – 1,364

National Executives

Hajia Hamdatu Ibrahim Haruna – 682
Nana Bright Oduro Kwarteng – 352
Kweku Ankrah Quansah – 154
Nana Akosua Frimpong Sarpong – 952

Vice Chairman
Onsy Kwame Nkrumah – 1,013
Emmanuel Ogbodjor – 720
John Benjamin Daniels – 377

General Secretary
Nana Yaa Akyempim Jantuah – 1,389
James Kwabena Bomfeh – 752

Moses Ambing Yirimambo – 1,485
Rashid Alao – 665

Youth Organizer
Osei Kofi Acquah – 1,394
Solomon Duncan Amponsah – 731

Women’s Organizer
Hajia Aisha Sulley Futa – 1,236
Rose Austin Tenadu – 854

Emmanuel Opare Addo – 1488
Edwina Okuadjo Ayorkor – 628


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here